baby guru

LISTEN 01 Especially When
02 Baby You're So Weird
03 Exegesis
04 Marginalia
05 Behaviour
06 Explain
07 We Need Some Space
08 Two Days Ago
09 Turtle Hearts
10 Anticipation
11 Most of the Times
INN087 - March 2014
INN087L - March 2014

One year and a half after the European release of “Pieces” Baby Guru return with their luggage full of enthusiastic reviews, unforgettable experiences from their live performances in Greece and abroad but most of all full of brand new music. Their third album “Marginalia” is set for release across Europe in March 2014 and is the band’s most ambitious work to date.

“Marginalia” doesn’t thrive in the margins, but justifies its title with a never-ending expansion of the mind and body through its musical substance. Prins Obi, King Elephant and Sir Kosmiche are, as always, the exclusive creators of the album (composition, production, arrangement, recording) and with the help of the band’s unofficial fourth member (Christina) they attempt to fuse high quality pop with synthesizer music and riveting grooves. The album was mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, New York. 11 tracks create a cohesive whole, brimming with lyricism, electrifying, atmospheric sounds and irresistible hooks. Among them a little surprise: the first Baby Guru track sung in their native language.

“Marginalia” is out on cd, vinyl including bonus cd and digital album from Inner Ear.

LISTEN 01 Necessary Voodoo
02 For Naked Sun
03 Say Say
04 The Things You Do
05 Amaye
06 Dolomite Jollity
07 The Letter
08 Children
09 The Letter (Reprise)
10 For Trish
11 Last Summer
12 Cyclamen Persicum
13 Bog
INN066 - October 2012
INN066L - October 2012

One year and a half after the release of their debut album, Baby Guru return with a new album, which is titled “Pieces”. A year and a half full of live performances and reviews that have characterized them as the best new Greek band. During this time, the trio of Prins Obi, King Elephant and Sir Kosmiche haven’t stopped creating, experimenting and playing music. Baby Guru stick out their tongues at the high expectations, created by their self-titled first album and continue to do what they know and love, with humility and total dedication, signing once again the production, arrangement and all the recordings of the album.

The album opens dynamically with the spell of “Necessary Voodoo” (Get away from your darkest times / there is a new thing going on …), followed by electrified and atmospheric moments that compose the music nirvana of “Pieces” through 13 kaleidoscopic tracks. Warm earthy tones (The Things You Do, Last Summer), impressive vocal harmonies (Naked Sun, Amaye), colorful psychedelia (Say, Say), abstract beauty (Dolomite Jollity) and addictive percussion (Children, Bog) are mapping the journey of listening through major roads and secret paths. A trip sometimes lazily sunny (For Trish) and sometimes evocatively dark (The Letter, Cyclamen Persicum), with personal stories of the band that mix magically with an energy from other eras that have something of Chaucer’s medieval mysticism and Thoreau’s paganism. Besides, Baby Guru’s present is located somewhere between two musical eternities: that of the past and that of the future. The rich musical influences (from Can to Mike Oldfield and from Aphrodite’s Child to Syd Barrett) revive, reinforcing their ties with music, and after a debut album where the guitars were conspicuous by their absence, here the band renews its faith to the guitar with the blessings of Jimi Hendrix.

“Pieces” is released on vinyl and cd from Inner Ear.


''οι Baby Guru ήρθαν για να μείνουν και μ’ αυτό το άρτιο μουσικό σύνολο τραγουδιών αποδεικνύουν ότι επάξια δημιουργήθηκαν όλα αυτά τα διθυραμβικά σχόλια γύρω από το όνομά τους.’'


''Το “Pieces” είναι ένα album μέσα στην ντάγκλα. Έχει ένα ευφορικό let-it-go στην καρδιά του που σε κάνει να το απολαμβάνεις με όλη την καλή σου διάθεση, αυτή τη γαλαντόμα γενναιόδωρη αραχτή και ίσως λίγο βουκολική ξάπλα που σου έχει λείψει.’'

Jumping Fish

''Τον αρχικό ενθουσιασμό της πρώτης ακρόασης του Pieces ακολουθεί ένας δεύτερος, ακόμα μεγαλύτερος’'


baby guru
LISTEN 01 Holy Grey
02 Heres Comes The Luliluri
03 Marilu
04 Bounce
05 Elf Over Rooftops
06 I'm Only Spinning
07 Secondary Angle And Shades Of Infinity
08 Perfect Make-up
09 Navigation
10 Rainy Day
11 Kicks With Mary
12 Ariel (reprise)
13 Inner Space
14 Promenade
INN035 - March 2011
ΙΝΝ035L - March 2011

Baby Guru is an ever evolving musical organism consisting of the unpredictable trio of: Obi Serotone, King Elephant and Sir Kosmiche. Their homemade debut album, which was recorded at King Elephant’s basement, is entirely produced, arranged and mixed by Baby Guru and is released in vinyl and cd from Inner Ear. Walking in the footsteps of Can, Baby Guru record long improvisational jams, without any rehearsals, following their instincts and the unexpected inspiration and unlocking their subconscious. Later on they would isolate the best parts and end up with a final result, using editing techniques. Looking for the influences of “Baby Guru”, one comes across psychedelic music, the band’s love for samplers, African percussion, electronic methods (looping, splicing, editing) but also kraut pop. It’s worth mentioning that they used no guitars at all during the recordings of the album.

Marilu wears flowers on her forehead, puts on a hippie dress and starts dancing in the fields, defying the warnings of Baby Guru. An old 60’s commercial gets married with a minimal African beat while in the background a freak hits the old piano with a violin stick. The ghosts of Silver Apples and early Kraftwerk (dressed up in punkish outfits) make their appearance. A sampler comes from the sky and Baby Guru couldn’t help following it. Kraut grooves are transformed into a multi-faceted monster with broken saxophones, disorientating samples and electronica-obsessed bass lines until the whole thing explodes into a punk’n'bass roller coaster. “Inner Space” keeps building and building until Baby Guru find themselves in a state of ecstasy, driving Hank Moody’s car across a shore in California and an old Rolling Stones song is playing on the radio. 80’s post-punk grooves, with an electro-pop flavour, get interrupted by dreamy, mellow soundscapes. Around 3 a.m. in the morning, on the verge of exhaustion they say goodbye…let all the bright light wash all over the dark corridors of your mind baby…

Welcome to Guruland! The circle is full and the ritual begins NOW!



“Στο κεφάλι των Baby Guru το «ένδοξο παρελθόν» έχει προκαλέσει μια δημιουργική έκρηξη, ικανή για ένα εντυπωσιακό ντεμπούτο.” (5/5)

Athens Voice

“Αυτή είναι η καλύτερη νέα ελληνική μπάντα.”